No Soup for You!

It was a rough week.  Work was hard, I was super tired and I am just so glad it’s Friday.  I got home from work today, plopped down on the couch and flipped the TV to my favorite channel for mindless viewing: the Cooking Channel.  You can imagine my surprise when I tuned in to channel 456 and instead of the Cooking Channel I was watching some lame Helen Hunt movie.  Thinking they must have reprogramed things, I turned to the search function.  I searched for Chuck’s Day Off, my favorite food show.  Nothing.  NOWHERE.  In a panic, I Googled it.  I typed in “Cooking Channel” and with a sinking feeling I clicked the “search” button.  There was the headline I didn’t want to see.  AT&T U-verse had cut HGTV, Food Network and Cooking Channel.
How could this happen?? Thanksgiving is coming up AND I still haven’t decided on a menu for the baby shower I’m hosting on Sunday.  I need inspiration from celebrity chefs!  YES I know I can refer to my cookbooks, magazines or take a cooking class, but it’s just not the same.  I like having someone chopping, sautéing, braising or frying in the background while I’m writing, doing the dishes or even while I’m preparing a meal.  It has become a habit.  And it has come to an abrupt end.  I now have to say my farewells.

Rachael, I’ll miss your cute kitchen and the way everything you cook is totally bad for you.


So long Giada.  I think you’re boring when you’re baking, but your Italian Cuisine is wonderful.  And you’re completely adorable.


And Chuck… What can I say?  I’ll miss you the most.  I’ll miss your weird French Canadian accent, your food tattoos and your appreciation for the freshest ingredients.  You will no longer be on my DVR, you won’t be there to try to make me like seafood, and I’ll never again happily watch you cook for your friends and family.

Disappointed?  What an understatement.  I have an empty space in my heart.  I hope all the food blogs out there are ready for me because here I come….


Leave a comment