Millions of Meatballs, Meatballs for You!

Today I made 120 turkey meatballs.  Meatballs are extremely versatile, so I like to have them on hand.  I freeze them and use them in sandwiches, pastas, soups, and just plain.  They can last up to a couple of months in the freezer and since ground turkey was buy-one-get-one at my local market….

As I stared into my enormous mixing bowl of meatball mix, I realized that 120 meatballs is probably too much.  Here’s my recipe for a normal batch of meatballs:

1.25 pound ground extra lean turkey
1/2 white onion
2 cloves garlic
Small handful of cherry tomatoes
1/2 c panko breadcrumbs (any breadcrumbs will do, really)*
1 egg*
2 T. Shredded parmesan cheese
Small handful of either Italian parsley or basil, whichever you prefer

You’ll notice that I don’t season the meatballs with salt and pepper before serving. You can modify this as needed.  I always imagine my father joining for a meal, and he can’t have too much sodium, so I don’t preseason.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking tray with parchment paper (aluminum foil will also work).

-Coarsely chop onion and garlic.  Lightly sauté. When your housemates/roomates/family says “that smells amazing!!!” You’re almost done)  Grind in food processor for a couple of seconds. Set aside.
-Blend cherry tomatoes and your herb of choice in the food processor for a couple of seconds.  Add to your onion mixture.
-In a large mixing bowl, add egg, turkey, tomato/onion mixtures, breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese and get your hands dirty!  Mix it all together.  Remember: each bite needs to have all flavors.
-Shape your meatballs into golfball-sized hunks and arrange on the baking sheet. Take care not to roll the meatballs too tight.  They should be fall-aparty.  Yes, that’s a technical term.


-Bake the meatballs for 20 minutes on a middle oven rack.  After 20 minutes turn them over and continue cooking for 10 minutes.  Sprinke with parmesan cheese, leftover herbs, and serve.

Voilà! Lovely meatballs! 

*on a budget? Who isn’t.  Go ahead and double the eggs and breadcrumbs to stretch your batch of meatballs.


Leave a comment